Reign of the Fallen – Review

Standard

29906017

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their souls from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised–the Dead must remain shrouded, or risk transforming into zombie-like monsters known as Shades. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, the grotesque transformation will begin.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears among Odessa’s necromancer community. Soon a crushing loss of one of their own reveals a disturbing conspiracy: someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is faced with a terrifying question: What if her necromancer’s magic is the weapon that brings Karthia to its knees?

My Review

Reign of the Fallen was a book that I desperately wanted to love. The cover is stunning, the synopsis sounds amazing! I’d never read a book like this before, and I was super excited about the whole necromancer aspect of the story. I decided to use one of my free audible credits for this book.

I started reading and the characters were amazing and the story was pretty fast paced, there was some romance elements to it, but then it all kind of started to go south. There is a pivotal scene about 1/4th of the way into the book, and after that the whole tone of the book changes.

The characters in this book were going to be badass or so I thought. Odessa was my highest hope of all the characters, but she ended up being the one I hated the most. Odessa is the name of a badass, and I expected nothing less from her. However, she suffers a terrible loss and just spirals out of control after that. She becomes addicted to this potion and instead of leaning on the plethora of supporting characters (and there are a lot) she continues to drink more and more of this potion, and quickly the main plot of this book becomes about dealing with her addiction… <head desk> She was such a strong character at the beginning but then she just kept making bad decision after bad decision and that’s when I really decided that I just couldn’t stand her.

I decided to persevere and trudge onward in my audiobook journey noticing that I keep speeding up the narrator’s voice. Because if she reads fast the book would be over faster… Right….

Each chapter seemed to get more and more convoluted and I couldn’t wait to be done with this book. This book had so much promise and was so interesting with a unique plot but I just couldn’t. I couldn’t get past ALL of the characters and I couldn’t keep them straight. So, to you potential reader I say this… If you have patience and you think it sounds good, give it a go. Otherwise, save yourself the trouble.

Where to Buy

Book Depository

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Advertisements

Every Day – Review

Standard

13262783

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

My Review

Every Day is an amazing story about an entity named A, that gets to wake up in a new body every day. A doesn’t know if it’s going to be male or female, or the person’s ethnicity. A has to adapt to a whole new person every day. Until one day, A wakes up as Justin, a less than stellar individual. Enter Rihannon, Justin’s girlfriend, and A is smitten. Unable to think of anyone else A tries every day after to get back to Rihannon in some way.
I love how this book was written. I thought it was brilliantly done. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to write and develop so many characters while moving the story forward at the same time. Levithan does this with ease. A is a great character, easy to root for, but also easy to hate. I didn’t agree with some of the decisions that A made, but that didn’t detract from the story, for me.
Rihannon is a great character. My heart broke for her. I pitied her. She has this terrible boyfriend, then an entity who jumps bodies every day enters her life and piles onto her already heaping plate. Her family life isn’t the greatest either which we get to see a couple of times throughout the book.
This book is fast paced, the constant new characters keeps the experience fresh and the reader turning the page. I loved this book…Until the end. Then I was just angry. The way this book ended left me hurling expletives into the dim empty bedroom around me. I absolutely hated the way this book ended. There could easily have been another 200 pages of story. I know there is a companion novel but it’s written from Rihannon’s point of view. I need a continuation of A’s story. I need a second novel.
If you’ve read this book, please let me know what you thought of the end.

*Note: I just found out that there is a sequel called Someday being released on October 2nd of this year.

Where to Buy

Book Depository

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

 

Love Hate & Other Filters – Review

Standard

31207017A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban Chicago home, and being paired off with an older Muslim boy her mom deems “suitable.” And then there is the world of her dreams: going to film school and living in New York City—and maybe (just maybe) pursuing a boy she’s known from afar since grade school, a boy who’s finally falling into her orbit at school.

There’s also the real world, beyond Maya’s control. In the aftermath of a horrific crime perpetrated hundreds of miles away, her life is turned upside down. The community she’s known since birth becomes unrecognizable; neighbors and classmates alike are consumed with fear, bigotry, and hatred. Ultimately, Maya must find the strength within to determine where she truly belongs.

Continue reading

Huge January Book Haul

Standard

 

Maker:0x4c,Date:2017-10-16,Ver:4,Lens:Kan03,Act:Lar01,E-ve

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wanted to share with everyone my Huge January Book Haul. Below you will find a photo of each book, the blurb and where you can find it on amazon.

 

If you like this post and want to see more like this please let me know. Leave a comment if you’ve read any of these and which are your favorite or which are on your TBR list.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continue reading

Words on Bathroom Walls – Review

Standard

25695640

Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

Continue reading

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – Review

Standard

19547856Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Continue reading

Ready Player One – Review

Standard

 

9969571

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

 

 

Continue reading